City of Angels – meeting Paris in LA

I always love going to Los Angeles!  While people in LA are often stereotyped as “plastic,” and “in the business,” I must have a secret because all my friends in LA are down-to-earth, open-minded, non-to-minimal plastic, and true soul mates.  I feel blessed to have so many friends in LA.  When I’m there, I feel a freedom like nowhere else (except San Francisco of course, but I’ll save the whole nor-cal v. so-cal thing for another time).

LA has fantastic Bar Method studios that I frequent for classes, teaching, evaluating, training, or simply hanging out and being with my Bar Method family.  And last week while in LA on a business trip to evaluate some Bar Method teachers, I learned why LA is nicknamed the City of Angels.

Every day was packed with classes, meetings, driving to-from studios, and my must-have visits to Joan’s on 3rd.  On the Wednesday of my trip, I discovered 90 minutes of free time while driving down Montana Street.  The perfect parking place in front of Pinkberry and Bellacures called my name.  What’s better than some Pinkberry and a mani/pedi?  Bonus:  my parking meter gave me free time.

The receptionist at Bellacures seated me without a wait (miracle).   My feet were soaking.  I felt relaxed and entertained watching the women in the salon.  I thought about flipping through a magazine but decided I just wanted to read life and watch faces and behavior (one of my favorite hobbies).

She walked in with perfect posture, her little doggie by her side.  She understood me at the deepest level and we hadn’t even met.  I knew her pain and her path, yet I didn’t know her name.  I couldn’t take my eyes off her.  She was led to the chair next to mine.

“What kind of dog is that?” I asked

“A (word I forget) terrier.”

“Oh I miss my dogs,” I said as I reached down to pet her terrier dog.

“Do you want him to sit with you?” she asked.

“Oh yes!” I answered with delight.  I was craving some snuggling.  I picked up the little guy and he cuddled right next to me

“His name is Dodger,” she informed me.  The most perfect name for this little guy.

We locked eyes, shared life stories, heartaches, dreams, ideas, tears – everything.  My nails were dry for a while but I couldn’t leave.  My angel sitting next to me, let’s call her Paris, was sent by the Big Guy.  I have no doubt.  I’m not Shakespeare or Virginia Wolfe, so I’m struggling to describe the magic of this experience.

In the midst of our exchange, Paris took my hand, held it with her strong hands and said, “I am not some crazy woman in LA.  I am legitimate.”  Indeed.  She is a legitimate angel (LA).

Magic is in the eyes of the beholder.   So are angels.  Paris, in my eyes, is just that – a magical angel.  Some believe life is full of coincidences.  That’s boring.  I believe in miracles and magic.

Paris has strength beyond Hercules.  She is winning her battle of addiction and working her 12-step program with every fiber of her being.  She is fierce and will not back down.  She will only win.

Angels are spiritual beings often depicted as messengers of God in the Hebrew and Christian bibles.  Some roles of angels include protecting and guiding human beings, and carrying out God’s tasks.  Islam is clear on the nature of angels in that they are messengers of God. They have no free will, and can do only what the Big Guy orders them to do.

As I was studying Angels when I returned from LA, I read about various religions and their principles.  One that stands out to me is the three core principles that establish a basis for Bahá’í doctrine: the unity of God, the unity of religion, and the unity of humankind.  From these postulates stems the belief that God periodically reveals his will through divine messengers, such as Paris, whose purpose is to transform the character of humankind (me) and develop, within those who respond (me), moral and spiritual qualities.

Unity.  I don’t think I’ve ever used this word, or really ever thought much about it.  I like it.  I really like the notion of unity of humankind.  Unity is the state of being undivided or unbroken.  I feel unity with Paris.  We are hiking the same path.  We shared our spirits and souls during that 60 minutes in LA and have continued to with multiple daily emails.

Life is a gift.  What’s better than meeting an Angel during a mani/pedi with Pinkberry?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to City of Angels – meeting Paris in LA

  1. The path toward unity of all humanity starts with a bit o’ unity with just one human. Or angel.

  2. subtlefire says:

    Thoughtbasket, thank you for sharing. i’m always moved by your comments. makes me feel less alone.

Leave a Reply

